Unlimited access >

I found out my trainer gave a beginner lesson on my horse after she told me that only she and her assistant would be riding him

I am fairly new to western, as I grew up riding English.

Two years ago, I bought an Appaloosa because I have always wanted one. I bought him as a yearling and broke him myself. My goal with this particular horse is to do the HUS and be able to do very small courses with him in breed shows or the NSB (maybe?). I don’t know much at all about AQHA or showing. So I decided to put him in training. This is the second trainer I have gone to, as the first one I felt did not respect me or communicate with me. I am still in my 20s and I honestly do feel like if a trainer doesn’t think your horse is worth at least $20,000, they won’t give you a passing glance. I don’t think my horse is worth that much but he is not an ugly horse or a bad mover.

Anyway, I started him in training with this gal mid January and I found out a couple days ago that she gave a girl who is a complete beginner a lesson on him.
My horse is only 4 years old this year and has not been in consistent training and is in no way broke enough to pack a beginner around. I simply do not want him learning he can get away with ANYTHING. When I rode him I could tell that someone had been on him who had let him get away with naughty behavior.
I confronted my trainer about this and she was very defensive about it. It would have been fine if she had just said that she was sorry and it wouldn’t happen again. But she didn’t.