Unlimited access >

Junior Rider Seeking Advice With Trainer Drama

Hey all! First time posting and made a separate account, just to make personal details private. Advice is highly appreciated!

I am a junior who has been riding and serving as a working student for my current trainer for around four years. I do not have the means to afford a horse at the level that I would like to compete at and have felt incredibly lucky to have found a trainer that is willing to make my dreams a reality. As her working student, she has allowed me an unofficial free lease on one of her former project horses for about three years. Said horse was out of work for about a year before I started riding him, and had an unsuccessful prior career in his former discipline. Through my schooling rides and instruction in lessons, the horse is now competing and winning on the local A circuit.

I more than work off all of my rides, and spent several summers working at her barn 8 am-5 pm, five or six days a week. While in school I work five days, from 4 pm to around 9 on weekdays, and the full day on Saturday. I also teach one beginner lesson on Saturdays. Said trainer has a side business that I also assist with. When working I do not receive breaks and do not have time to eat lunch when working full days. If I come for a lesson and expect to leave after, my trainer acts annoyed by the fact that I will not do more work, even though my ride is fully paid for.

For a while, I have been wary of this situation, and try to limit the number of hours I work to a reasonable amount. This is a complicated situation, however, as the trainer does not have any employees, and mostly relies on her working students to do all of the labor for the barn. I feel obligated to work and help out, or else the barn work will not get done.