Unlimited access >

Lack of confidence and fear making me contemplate quitting riding - Advice?

I have been riding for 20+ years and currently have 3 horses. Years ago I was comfortable competing at 3’ and really enjoyed riding. Was also comfortable getting young TB’s off the track and retraining them for other ventures. A few years back had a bad fall while jumping at a show that resulted in some broken bones. I never went back to competing at 3’ after that. I competed at 2’6" for a while but then had to retire my saintly school master. Fast forward to now: I have 2 nice warmbloods but occasionally they are naughty which terrifies me. Both have bucked me off. The last time it took me 3 weeks before I could ride again. I continue to ride them but have days where I only walk because I am afraid. It is very discouraging because I love them and want to go back to showing and enjoying riding but my anxiety is preventing that. I work with a trainer and take a weekly lesson on each horse (and they are good 95% of the time). Both are rated quality show hunters. I just dont know if I should throw in the towel and sell them and just take lessons on schoolies until I get comfortable riding again. Dont know if speaking to a sports psychologist would help? One of them has been getting pro rides twice a week but he still will occasionally out of no where squeal and leap in the air with me. I usually kick him forward and go on but it is terrifying and every time it happens I feel like I lose a little more confidence. Suggestions???