Unlimited access >

Maiden mare at 346 days.

This is my first time posting so please forgive me if it is out of place.
I have a very special maiden mare who is at 346 days today. It is driving me insane! She is huge, bagged up and perfectly content. :eek:
This is my first mare to foal and I am so impatient. She has been bagged for weeks and I want the baby now!
I hear that maiden mares do whatever they please when it comes to foaling. Is that true? I have read every piece of literature out there about foaling and she is all over the board.
I am just looking for any advice and someone to talk to before going crazy.
Thank you.

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10206346719610991&set=a.1295057900678.2038002.1357235474&type=3&theater

Plan an outing where you’ll be away from the farm for the whole day. Guaranteed baby will arrive while your’e gone. Or, sleep in the barn for a week on foal watch, have a pizza that runs right through you and she’ll have the baby while you’re in the house on the john.

Only half kidding.

I’m no expert on foaling but the few I have seen (about a dozen) have mostly waxed up within 48 hours of foaling. Some waxed up in the morning and had the foal by that afternoon… Some were waxy for a week.

Sansena,
I like how you think! We will be gone most of the day today so maybe we will get lucky. She lost her mucus plug at 328 days (vet confirmed) and I thought for sure she would have the baby early. Nope. Not Sass that would be too easy.

All mares do whatever they please. What is her calcium and pH levels? It is really irresponsible and foolish to leave a late term mare unattended for more than a couple of hours in my opinion so please don’t do that. It would be a shame to come this far just to lose them both because they were unattended.

Laurierace,
I do not know her calcium or Ph levels. In my reading it said that those readings were as undependable as bagging up could be. Pool testing kits are usable correct?