Unlimited access >

Making a complaint to a vet

Little less than a month ago we had a vet out and it was a pretty bad experience. We just got the bill and I’d like to complain about the amount of sedatives he was given, and maybe about how it went as well (not sure if it would be better to just drop that part).

I’ve never written a complaint before and I’m kind of unsure about how to go about it. I’m Danish so some things will properly be a bit different here, but I’m still really curious to hear if any of you have experienced something similar and what you did.

I’m also really curious about if you know anything about sedatives being used in this way? I honestly haven’t seen many horses sedated and I’ve only been in charge of the whole thing a handful of times. It always seems to be an unpleasant experience, but I’m really curious about how normal this is and how “bad” sedating a horse should be.

We had the vet out to do some standard stuff (vaccinations and testing for worms) and to take a blood sample from my pony gelding. He is a really sweet pony and easy to handle, but he is cautious/scared of some people.

It’ll get too long if I go into details about what happened. But we started out with a pony who was cautious but curious and ended up with a pony who was panicking like I’ve never seen him panic before - and I’ve owned him for almost six years. I can’t blame the vet completely, but I believe that it was the vets incompetence when it comes to handling horses that made this situation spiral completely out of control. The vet didn’t exactly do anything wrong, it was just very clear that he didn’t know anything about handling horses.