Mounting problem

I’m an older woman who had to give up riding for the last five years due to health issues. I started riding again this year and found it took a little while to get “back in the saddle” but each time I rode, I was rebuilding my confidence. I bought a gaited horse and that has made a big difference in my ability to ride for longer periods of time. However, due to the medications and extended illnesses, I have lost my ability to mount. I am only able to dismount slowly and luckily I have a great partner that stands quietly while I take my time. I am able to mount with a mounting block (most of the time he will stand quietly and we are going to work on that this spring) but my biggest fear (and humiliation) is when I can’t mount from the ground if we stop along the trail. I’m not sure the muscle tone and strength will ever return to me. I experience my greatest rehabilitation from riding and it helps to clear and refresh my mind but the mounting humiliation is almost too much to bear. I’ve never had to rely on aids or others to be able to ride. How do I get past this? Can one teach their horse to bow or kneel in order to mount? I’m afraid to ride alone for fear I will need to dismount and then can’t get back on.

A few things don’t be worried about not being able to mount without help. You just need to prepare yourself a bit, you probably shouldn’t ride out on trail without a buddy anyways if you can’t get on without help. For reasons you stated. But many people mount from blocks, rails, sides of banks you name it… Yes your horse can be taught to kneel, or park out which lowers the back also. You can get those stirrup extender things (I don’t remember the name).

When trail riding make a plan, ride where you know there are rocks or downed trees or banks where you can put yourself higher, and you know what it is okay to ask for help.