Unlimited access >

Moving barns, not sure how to cut things off with my trainer

i think it’s time for me to move barns and i need some advice on how to do so. for context, i’ve been with my current trainer since i was 13 years old (i’m 19 now). i’m a second year college student at my local state school (about 30 mins away from my current barn) but i’ve been pretty busy so i’ve only been riding over summer and winter breaks. i’ve decided to be a part time student and i’m at the point where i want to start riding more frequently again now that i have more time. however, i don’t want to go back to my current barn. there’s a barn that’s a little closer to me that i want to start riding at, they don’t have lesson horses but my family and i are willing to look for a horse of my own to board there since i now have a car and job. i’m not sure how to navigate this situation with my current trainer because i’m not technically riding with her right now but i definitely don’t want to cut things off cold turkey, especially after everything she’s done for me. the only thing i can imagine doing to end things is to text her, but i’m worried that might be inconsiderate. we don’t have the kind of relationship that involves sitting down and talking in person, and also it would be so awkward to go out to the barn for the first time since break just to say i’m never coming back. i’m a little scared because i’ve been with her for so long so i’m not sure how to leave while also being on good terms. any advice is appreciated!

Send her a written note, text, or e-mail, whatever you are most comfortable with. All you need to say is that you are going to begin riding at a barn more conveniently located to your college. You appreciate all she has done for you over the years to make you a better rider.

That’s it. Brief, to the point, and you have not burned any bridges behind you. That is all you need to say; in fact, that is all you should say.

41 Likes