Unlimited access >

My "friend" doesn't like my trainer... Long post! (Update, post 58)

This is sort of a confusing, convoluted situation, so bear with me here.

I started riding at a new barn back in the fall, where I leased a nice jumper for a couple of months and then purchased a green project back in December. The head trainer left for Florida in January, so I’ve stayed home to work with the assistant. I’ve been very pleased with the progress my young horse has made with her—I do 90% of the riding myself and find that my lessons with the trainer are productive, positive, and we end up with a horse who is better than where we started. I’m happy. The horse care and support staff is also great, and I now consider both trainers good friends.

Shortly after I first started riding at the barn, I met a young woman who was half-leasing a jumper at a different trainer’s barn and was concerned about where she was going to ride when her trainer left for Florida. (No assistant to stay home, whole barn ships down.) Additionally, her personal life was changing meaning she was losing access to a car—and as we live in NYC where not everyone has cars, it was limiting her barn options.

I offered to drive her out to lesson at my barn with the assistant. She is an average rider with some nervous tendencies and bad habits. On her first lesson, she got to ride a solid, cute 3’ hunter who requires a lot of work to package on the flat and will stop (not at all dirty in this case) if you don’t put your leg on. He tried this a couple of times with her, she mentioned how nervous stoppers make her (I get it), but trainer coached it through it, and she ended up with a good lesson.