Unlimited access >

Need help! How to ride quicker, having time faults!

Hey friends!

I really need your advices, tips & tricks! I’ve been participating in show jumping competition for about 5 years now and currently I’m doing 120 and 130 classes with my horse. Even though it’s getting better, I’m still often concerned with if I’m going to see the right distance…this makes me kinda insecure and I’m not able to move(canter forwards) enough and get time faults or even if we have a clear round I’m to slow to get a ribbon. Could you please share some tips and exercises to overcome this, how I call it “mental barrier”? It really feels like I’m afraid to canter quicker because then it’s even more difficult to see the right distance and I’m so afraid that if I miss it, we’ll crash the fence or have an injury or something…Please help, this is very, very significant to me!

If you find it difficult to find distances when you increase speed, the horse is probably too flat and on his forehand.

What FineAlready said. You probably don’t have the right canter or enough impulsion. You also are probably losing time in the turns by not “hitting the gas” while you ride through them. Do you have a video?

It’s actually a lot easier to find distances when you ride forward to the jumps. What does your coach say?

Thank you! Yes, that’s true, I also tend to take huge turns, being afraid that I won’t see the distance if I make shorter ones. Here’s the video from the last competition, it’s young riders 120, I feel quite confident riding this height, when it’s 130 I’m not afraid but much less confident…
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SUt8Cp8f6Po