Unlimited access >

Need new eyes on the topic... mare is too smart for her (and my) own good. first post and looking for advice!

hey yall! this is my first time posting here so apologies if i’m a little all over the place. I’m currently an ammy on the road towards going pro working and selling some young ottbs. i have a 4 year old mare who has picked up some bad habits from her previous owner who for lack of better verbiage was scared of her after being dumped. this mare is incredibly athletic and when she is quiet she is stunning. however her exercising of bad habits is more frequent than her “good days” and she will either rush though gaits or grab hold of the bit then slam the breaks and buck, or decide to “spook” and try to spin me off every 10 steps for an hour straight (she has succeeded in getting me off only once lol). all in all I have ridden this mare enough to know her capabilities and intentions and to me it seems like she needs a major attitude adjustment. she doesn’t like being told what to do and will either try to spin you off, buck you off, or dead stop and rear (which I have even less patience with than the bucking and spooking). to be honest I am really losing patience and hope with this mare because she is very smart, but uses that edge to spook her riders and get out of work but is persistent enough that what little work I am able to do with her is not very successful. she has the potential to make an incredibly talented horse for someone and im running out of ideas with her. I have tried many things to keep her engaged because I feel like maybe she is easily bored however she has now figured out and started to reject these exercises and has become increasingly more “dirty”. I have also tried to simply ride her through it but I am not willing to do that at the expense of getting thrown/nearly thrown every ride. she is well broke and I know she is able to do good work just doesn’t want to. and yes she has been thoroughly vetted, teeth floated,