Unlimited access >

Newbie--LOTS of Questions :)

Hey everyone!! I am brand new to the English discipline but have ridden and owned horses my entire life. I purchased my first “english” horse just over a month ago. He is a 9.5 year old gray Appendix. Before purchasing him I took about 4 months of English riding lessons, sent my QH mare to my trainer and was told she wouldn’t be a good fit. (Not to mention the mare and I never saw eye to eye so it didn’t hurt my feelings) We all agreed that I was ready for my own mount so enter my boy. He spent a couple of days with them last week and they told me he’s very green but has a lot of potential and that they think we will make a great team. I’m sharing all of this because I would love some advice on some exercises to work with him. Here are the problems I know for sure; 1) He holds his head SUPER high. My trainer wants to use a running martingale until he learns how to give to pressure and bring his head down. (would love your all’s opinion on this) 2) He doesn’t “get on the bit” but “follows the bit.” Her words, not mine.

I want to be as “contraption free” as possible and don’t want to force anything. Again all of this is coming from someone who has very little knowledge of the English world. My goals for us would be to show in Dressage and H/J. For a gelding of his age what is the realty of becoming competitive as a team at more than just schooling shows? I know I’m asking a lot of questions but I felt you all would have the best answers. :slight_smile:

If competition is your goal, I would suggest getting a good trainer as your first move. Maybe you should spectate at some shows in your area to become familiar with some of the local trainers and then take a few trial lessons.

Where is your new horse, do you keep him at home or board locally?

Is the trainer a dressage trainer or HJ? A good trainer in one won’t necessarily be able to help you be competitive for the other.