[Not] Getting somewhere with one horse

Caveat emptor: I’m pretty sad and salty right now. But I’m also genuinely curious: who here thinks it’s worth it to try and have goals with one horse?

I’ve written about my background here before a bit, but tl;dr: Came back as a re-rider five years ago after riding at a low level as a kid. Bought a lovely mare in 2020, lost her to EDM in early 2022. Half-leased a couple through 2022 to leg back up (with success) and bought a new mare late that year. Had a great winter and was ready to come out swinging, which naturally meant that new mare stuck her leg through a fence in April 2023. She went to rehab for three months, came back, and promptly got Lyme and EPM. Legged back up after that over the winter again (with my coach, since I had a few surgeries myself) and I started riding again in early May. Tons of progress until she started tripping a couple weeks ago. Had the vet send out blood and yep, Lyme and EPM again. So now my 2024 season is also done and dusted before we even started a competition.

Being able to set this much money on fire for horses is why I worked as hard as I did to get to the point I did in my career. But I also can’t responsibly set two horses’ worth of money (in my current program) on fire, and I’m not sure how much longer I have the fortitude to keep setting one horse worth of money and time on fire with nothing to show for it except heartbreak.