Unlimited access >

Ok, tack fiends, talk eventing saddles to me

For the first time in my entire life, I’m at a place where I can buy a new (or at least, new to me) saddle with a pretty solid budget (under $5k USD). I’ve been riding in a Collegiate all purpose for the past 10+ years that was secondhand when I got it… and while it’s served me well, it’s time to move on.

That being said, between this forum and the ever-intimidating Internet, all I’ve heard are conflicting opinions on “good” brands vs “bad.” Regardless, I’ll have a fitter out and get a saddle that fits my horse, but I would at least like to sound like I know something when they come out.

Currently, I’ll be doing low-level eventing and fox hunting. I’d love a monoflap saddle, but where I find the greatest conflict is what brands are actually good. Beyond fit and feel, what do y’all look for when eyeing up a new saddle? What brands have you had phenom consistency with and lasted over the years? Or have started well but ended in a hunk of burning flames?

Not sure it matters, but I have a Thoroughbred, so take that into whatever account!

Congratulations on your new saddle journey.

My big piece of advice, is to vet your fitters carefully. Ask in your local social media groups about experiences. Do your own research on their certifications. Make sure they are certified independent fitters, versus “fitters” (often called representatives) for a specific company. Many representatives will advertise themselves as " certified saddle fitters" ex. “Certified Stubben Saddle Fitter” – what they really mean is they took a 2 week course by their specific brand, to learn about their product. Anyone can take and pass this course. This title is understandably confusing and misleading - they are no more “certified fitters” than I am a “certified chemist”.