Unlimited access >

Opinions re: Picking an Old Style Stallion to breed to Old Style Hanoverian Mare??

My mare is very classic old-style Hanoverian and that is what I like, so I want to find a stallion to breed her to for a foal that will be my “keeper”. I realize that crossing these mares with more refined lines is what is popular now in breeding. I want to improve her, but maintain that classic look and mind. Her name is Grandune http://www.allbreedpedigree.com/grandune One other issue is that she requires fresh rather than frozen semen, which eliminates many stallions. Suggestions? I’d like to put a pic of her on here, but I’m a newbie and don’t know how :slight_smile:

I’m no help with suggestions but I just want to say KUDOS to you for wanting to keep “type” and that classic old-style warmblood in your next “keeper foal” I personally LOVE the old-style warmbloods. (but I do understand that for the “Olympic Disciplines”…folks tend to put the old-style mare to a more refined/modern/more-blood type)

We want pics!

One of my favorite WBs, who I consider typey - is Rex Grannus.

Contact the Han Verband in Germany. They will probably have some frozen of some very nice stallions that are out of fashion but super talented. Grand Cru, Graft Top…you can never have enough G-line and you often see multiple crosses. Or contact the American Han Society and ask them. They would know some local stallions that fit the bill.
http://www.allbreedpedigree.com/grand+cru (you will have a ton of Duellent)
http://www.allbreedpedigree.com/graf+top more G-line.

https://www.facebook.com/PandorraKWPN
http://kwpn-na.org/news/awards/2013-sport-awards/
http://www.gelderlanderhorse.nl/english/revolution.htm

His dam was a gelders horse. He has a lovely temperament and is doing Grand Prix.