Unlimited access >

Out of My League or Perfect Timing? Getting a Horse

So I took a break from riding about 3 years ago. College, health of a family member, and work put horses on the back burner and then when my childhood pony’s health went downhill and he passed I couldn’t even think of going to the barn. Before all that I’d ridden for 20 years and after aging out of showing a pony I worked the barn’s young school ponies, ponies owned by over-their-head kids, and OTTBs being retrained for H/J careers. So being on an unpredictable and questionably sane horse was not unusual for me. I wouldn’t call myself a beginner nor would I go so far as to say I was a trainer.

Then Covid hit and all the sitting around while being lucky enough to have a job left me saving money and realizing that I really missed my pony and being at the barn and now that I was physically and financially sound for a horse I want to go for it. So my goal was to A) save up money, B) get me and my family member vaccinated (so I felt safe being around others when a family member is high risk), C) start up lessons, and D) buy horse. A-check, B-just checked, and then D?

Because like any sane horse person I of course have been on horse sale sites, because that’s never a bad idea. My requirements were:

~4-9 years old
14.2-15.2 hands
some color (Paint, Appy, buckskin, palomino, w/e I just love anything that sticks out)
$5,000 or under
I’m not looking for anything fancy, just someone fun to work with, lessons, trails, mounted archery.

These past few months if I found a horse that fit most of my requirements they were either too far away or over the price range I wanted to spend. Good to dream about but knowing it’s not happening.