Price question

I am an adult amateur jumper looking to purchase a horse I have been riding for the last year. I think we make a great team and are very compatible when riding and jumping, we even do low level dressage and he performs well with everything. He is a 7 year old imported Oldenburg and has been competing a decent amount with my trainer this past year around 1.20m or below. He is listed as 120k and I am wondering if this is a fair price. He vetted well except for a small spot on his back that is not kissing spine but a spot with some bone remodeling that does not seem to cause him any trouble. Is he worth this price? Seller will not drop at all.

Interesting to have two first time posters making horse cost questions their first post in one day.

I’ll let those more HJ focused comment.

16 Likes

I think this sounds like a fair price. He’s still young but has good miles. Sound and in work. And you know him well which is a bonus. The only question I have is whether he’s maxed out at 1.20m or is there scope for more? Not sure it would change my opinion if his job was to be 1.20m and under. But if there is scope for more, that makes me think he is very well priced.

1 Like

And the posters have a mirror user name style of two letters followed by a year. Just saying before people invest their time assuming a genuine post….

8 Likes

Agree. If he’s got scope for more, he’s VERY well priced.

2 Likes

If he is nice to be around, safe, competitive at 1.20 (pretty fast and pretty careful) and has good vetting that is absolutely a fair price. Sign me up.

1 Like

Haha we are friends but have different trainers and obviously different horses but she recommended I post to see what everyone thinks! Not a fake account.

3 Likes

I actually do think he’s competed higher when he was abroad but I’m not positive.

Short answer, yes.

We have a lovely horse in my barn that has done the 1.20s and a couple 1.30s. He’s $150k but I have no idea what his vetting is like.