Pricing question

I’m an adult amateur working with a trainer I could not be happier with, and I am currently leasing a great 11 year old Andalusian who is pretty perfect but still coming up in his training (has showed Prix St Georges with my trainer, I’m not sure what he scored, and has not showed Grand Prix but that is certainly the goal). He went to Wellington for three months and made good progress per my trainer, but he still needs some development, particularly on his tempi changes. I have only shown at the level 3 test and we haven’t done well, but I am positive that is due to my inexperience; I’m still learning how to get our contact to come together under stress!

His owner is looking to sell him and is asking for $250k - a year ago when I heard that I nearly fainted, but after leasing him for 8 months of course now I completely love him and want to find a way to make it work. However his training is $2k/month on top of his boarding which is $1.5k, so this is quickly becoming a commitment that will absorb every bit of my income and require loans for a few years to absorb his price tag! I am just wondering if anyone has any comments on that price ask - he is completely wonderful in terms of his temperament and I trust him so much, but I have seen Grand Prix-proven horses with asking prices in the 150-175k range and I’m wondering if it would be insulting (to my trainer, to his owner, etc) to ask about the price expectation. Is it a foregone conclusion that if he can do the Prix St Georges that he will also make it to the full Grand Prix? Does he need a more experienced rider to get him there, to be fair to his potential etc?

I would really appreciate any comments or advice, and thank you!!!

Do you have family or friends that you can talk to about this…people who know you better?

4 Likes