Unlimited access >

Question: Connecting with a horse?

I’ve always been highly respected by adults and my peers, so it’s easy for me to talk to people. My past is rickety so I took up horses to get away from family issues, and back then, bullying. When I did so it really helped me connect to myself. My parents bought me my first horse, then I moved and sold my horse. I REALLY connected with that mare, even if she was green broke and I was a beginner. Couldnt even saddle her or get a saddle pad or blanket by her until 8 months of working my butt off.

Now I’m moving back. I need some help. I’m now an intermediate western/english rider. I do natural horsemanship and I prefer western.

Im looking for a horse to buy in five months from the lower 48. But the problem is, I had a bad fall off a race horse and broke my arm so my parents are very worried about me getting an extremely broken gelding. [ Since my mare was too 'hormonal ’ with heat & stuff ]. But, of course I want a broken horse, all the horses they like have NO personality. They are just broken so much that they are zombies who take people through trails. I have to bond with my horse to get a connection.

Plus, I love working with rescues and training. How can I tell my parents, nicely, that I don’t need that much of their protection. I get they care and love me but I told them when I took my first lesson that it was going to be dangerous for me but that I was strong. I love the risk and adventure in horses. I want a horse who will bond with me and let me lay in their pasture or ride them galloping with all my friends and then swim in the lakes with me. That I trust, not that is just so broken its trustworhty.

Thanks,
Anna

[QUOTE=JoJosGiftedGirl;7412358]