Unlimited access >

Raw food diet ideas/help

Thought I’d post here and see if anyone had any hints or ideas for putting a dog on a raw food diet.

I am a current college student and am hoping to bring my dog out to school with me next year (working towards an animal therapy certification program) and needless to say, my dog is quite finicky and has some food allergies and skin problems. It has taken the majority of the 5 years we have had her to figure out that a raw food diet is the best fit for her. Yet, at close to $50 a pop every few weeks for 1 package of the frozen patties, I just can’t totally swallow that cost.

After some talking with family and some research, I think I could achieve the same affect by just cooking her meals. I am thinking meals consisting of rice, carrots, meat (chicken, hamburger, potatoes etc). But other than just cooking up chicken and rice with carrots (and then dividing into several meals, including some for myself), I was wondering if you guys had any home-cooked dog meal recipes that you have had success with. Or just any tips in general.

Thank you!

questions: (and I am sure others will have more)

How big is your dog?
What are the allergies?
Why do you think feeding cooked is less expensive than raw?
What are the skin problems?

There are high quality kibble out there and we can help you pick one.
We can also help you add quality into your dog’s kibble.

I like to add raw local honey to my dog’s breakfast, it helps with outdoor allergies and he likes it.

So help us help you…and give us a bit more information