Regionals

Talk to me about regionals!

Do you only ride one test?
Do folks tend to stay for the entire weekend or basically come in and do their test and leave the next day?
Are there award ceremonies? Is that at the end of the weekend or at the end of each day?
I’m a newbie to all of this so would love any and all insight!

Most people ride both their championship class and the same test in the open show (hopefullly it will be scheduled before the championship class…). Some also enter other tests. Some have qualified for two levels or maybe freestyle.
Award ceremonies are MANDATORY for ribbon winners are are held at various times during the day.
Many folks stay the weekend but some only stay through their classes. Just like a regular show. Once you enter the showgrounds your horse must stay until
After your test.

Some people roll out as soon as their division is done but at least in Region 1, there’s a big community element.

Note that if you qualified for GAIGs at a level, you are also qualified for the equitation finals but it takes for.ev.er. to get through that class, I did it once and never again. We have one junior who always does well so she sticks through it but the rest of us find a seat.

If you plan to try to go to nationals you need to nominate yourself ahead of time.

How most in my barn structure their GAIGs competition plan:

• arrive the day before the competition starts,
  • show day 1 in an open/national/non-championship class riding the test that they’ll be riding in their championship class,
  • show again day 2 if their championship is on Sunday/they have another test to ride OR only flat that day (I try to get a 30mn lesson/tune up with my trainer),
  • take day 3 off/flat OR show in one-two championship class(es),
  • show in championship class on day 4 OR take the day off completely and enjoy watching the competition.
    I’ve done the two levels in on regional thing and I was exhausted trying to get a warm up class in for each.
1 Like