Riders with MS

Can anyone share their thoughts with me about assisting beginner adult riders who are dealing with MS? I would like to hear from anyone who is dealing with this so I can better help a student who is a new rider with great courage and enthusiasm but limited use of her legs. I want to challenge her and keep her lessons interesting without pushing too hard, too fast.
I would be very interested to hear from instructors about lesson exercises that have helped riders dealing with MS, and from riders who can share their thoughts, concerns and success stories.
Thankyou.

Here I am!!!

I am not a beginner, but I do have MS coupled with some other nerve disorders. My trainer is FANTASTIC. She realizes I may wake up in the morning and barely be able to move, so I can cancel the day of the lesson without having to pay. She just schools one of her horses during that time. If I am not up to trucking my horse to my trainer’s facility, I can ride her schoolie.

We have a few rules. Super Trainer used to always ask me if I was too tired, if she was working me too hard, or if I needed a break. It has been decided that I will tell her if I need a break. I walk around on the horse longer than ther average student to get feeling back in my legs so I don’t collapse upon dismount. If I need to sit for a few minutes, my trainer takes the horse. We have developed a very open relationship. She might tell me my left leg is looking unsteady, so I’m tired even though I do not feel it, and I have to take a walk break. My trainer treats me with respect, not like a fragile baby bird that might break. I like that.

Make your student comfortable enough to tell you she needs a break.

We work on perfect position all the time. My arm or leg might not be perfect, but we work on it.

My trainer has me ride quarter lines and circles of different sizes. Even if your student is a beginner, you can use cones to make 10M, 15M, and 20M circles.