Unlimited access >

RIP KIp Rosenthal

I knew shehad been sick. She said something to me at my first rated show as a judge that stuck with me my whole life. I have always tried to do the same for any riders that I talk to in my role as an official.

Wow. A huge loss.

a classic rider to look up to since I was a young rider

2 Likes

:cry:
I can’t emphasize enough the impact she had on my life. I started riding with her when I was 9 and riding Duckie - definitely the smallest person at Benchmark - she said I was too little to be a barn rat, so she called me a barn mouse. There were more years than I can count where I was her shadow. I remember her laughing at how the first time she put me on a horse, I needed a leg up from the mounting block because I couldn’t reach the stirrups. We went from green pony to greener pony and then a Cinderella story that no one could have predicted. Every time she called me, even when we spoke last week, she’d start off by saying in a commanding tone “EMILY… this is your riding instructor.” But she was so much more than a riding instructor. Kip instilled a work ethic in all of us. We were expected to be punctual, polite, and presentable at all times - no dusty boots when you had a lesson! She took an interest in us as people, not just as a paycheck. She deeply cared about her students and we all knew it. Kip brought me from the small/medium children’s ponies to the junior hunters to the Grand Prix classes. I’m proud to have been one of her “kids” and grateful for all of the memories, laughs, and wisdom that she shared with me. She was more than a trainer, she was a second mom to me. Love you always, Kip.

60 Likes