Unlimited access >

Safety Stirrups for Adult Beginners

Hi Everyone,

Well here it goes: My first post! I am an adult beginner who at 55 years old recently decided that it was now or never if I am going to learn to ride.
So in Mid-February I researched barns (luckily I live near many great equestrian facilities) and found myself a wonderful facility with talented trainers and amazing horses. I began taking English riding lessons twice a week. I am quite tall 5’8” with long legs so I began with a wise and sweet older gelding who stood 17hh and he took great care of me. I found I enjoyed riding and was moved up to a more lively 17hh mare. She is a little lazy at first, but is a great horse who helped me with my posting trot, with and without stirrups, and my first canter, lots of flat work, ground poles and cavaletti. After about three weeks, I purchased my first saddle, Fillis stirrup irons and leathers. I found that I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE riding and I have moved up to a very athletic 17.2 hands former champion Warmblood gelding. He is a gem and I have just started jumping cross rails.

My trainer suggested that I should get new hinged safety stirrups so that I will not get dragged if I fall. I have fallen once in my first 4 months of riding and luckily my feet slipped right out of my fillis irons no problems and no injury thanks to the nice footing in the arena where I ride, but of course I understand the need to take safety seriously.

So finally here is my question:
Free Jump Soft Up Pro or Tech Venice Stirrups?
What have you tried?
What do you like?
What’s best for an adult rider?

Let me know your thoughts.

Thanks!

I have the Tech Venice ones. I like that they have a wide footbed and are heavier. Not a fan of lightweight irons.

I do have to say, they make me feel a lot safer than regular irons.

1 Like