Unlimited access >

SALES ADVICE: Looking for an agent/rider to sell my horse

I’d like some recommendations for good trainers/riders/sales agents. Either Eventing or Jumping. Preferably in the South East, but can ship. Looking for someone who will be proactive about selling. Thanks for any input!

I guess I am confused. A campaign suggests a plan to an end in mind, but the query suggests that a sales agent who would show. A great deal depends on how much $$$$$ you want for the horse and how much time you want to take doing it. There are plenty of capable people who can sell the horse but I think the question needs more focus.

I suppose campaign was the wrong word. I am looking for someone who can build up a show record for a horse as well as offer him for sale. I don’t really know how else to explain it…? This is my first time selling a horse as I am more of a lifetime person. He was supposed to be my next UL Jumper mount until I got sick and was told no more riding. Whenever I show, I see pro riders who are riding and advertising horses they are selling for other people. I need someone who will do that…not just sell him, but also keep him in work and keep him showing. Does that make sense?

do you have a trainer, you work with? or did you train yourself??

OP, you are describing what most upper end agents do. You need to set a budget about how much/what kind of showing you want to have done, but all the agents will keep the horse in work and establish a show record. I agree that your trainer should be helpful. Where the horse goes depends on the market you are seeking. You want a trainer/agent that sells to the market that buys horses for the discipline and price range you have in mind.