Unlimited access >

Social Media Influencer Rule

“The intent of this proposal is to clarify the status of social media influencers as professionals and not amateurs. It is the unanimous consensus of the Amateurs Task Force that social media influencers are not able to conform to the definition of an amateur competitor by their accepting products or services in exchange for promotion of those products and/or services.”

I may be the lone voice here, but I think this rule is so vague that it puts folks in the same trap that says amateurs can’t even teach beginner up/down lessons on Saturdays without losing their amateur status.

I understand that some folks get free stuff from brands. I’m a marketing professional who has run several social media influencer programs, so I know how it goes. Some of the people I recruited were indeed “macro-influencers” with 100k followers and a large national voice. But much more often, these programs are meant to grow smaller brands in local markets.

I feel like this very general rule will cast too wide a net. For example, if your friend were to start up her own homemade treat brand and asked you, with your…let’s say…659 local followers, to spread the good word in exchange for a few free bags, are you now a professional?

That seems ridiculous.

If there needs to be a rule like this, OK - but please please define it so that it only effects the people who it is meant to effect!

1 Like

I don’t think that’s ridiculous at all. If you get any product in exchange for talking it up on your social media, regardless of how many or few followers you have, makes you an influencer and yes, makes you a professional. That’s a basic sponsorship, honestly. Free stuff is fun, but I guess you have to decide if free stuff is more important than an ammy status. :woman_shrugging:t2:

13 Likes

So say a person owns a tack shop.