Unlimited access >

Sore crotch help! Ladies please

I just started taking lessons and after my first ride I was so sore and even bleeding slightly from the pressure. I’m doing something wrong. I had been riding for 20 years with no problem. Took a ten year break, had kids and now it hurts? New to me dressage saddle. It’s my trainers. And I’m riding a horse that’s slightly downhill. So lots of pressure up front. But I feel like having my stirrups longer has thrown me forward (I used to to hunter jumpers). And maybe my pelvis is tipped? I have only had three lessons so far and I’m finding I’m bracing now to avoid pressure there.

Any help to avoid creating bad habits. I need to be sitting on my seat bones. Right? I don’t think I am?

Thanks!

I ride in several different saddles at our riding school. 2 of them never again because of being so uncomfortable to cause pain. Others so comfortable.

Change the saddle.

As for your position. Raise hour hands and sit on your but. If you get a ruler on your photo, you want a straight line ear, shoulder, hip and heel.

If we magically take away the horse you want to remain standing. You would fall forward.

2 Likes

I can’t see the photo, but it definitely sounds like your saddle does not fit you.

Also consider the breeches you had on. The only time I’ve ever had such horrific blisters down there was a few months ago when I bought these new full-seat pull-on tights. They’re a smidge too big (or were, before I put them in the dryer) that are such a slick fabric that the full-seat sticks to the saddle and I was moving around too much inside them. I really like them for the thigh pockets though, so I shrunk them a bit and ride in them with a panty liner, and I’m good to go.

4 Likes