Unlimited access >

Spooks messing with my brain

Could use some help - I’ve been riding jumpers for 20 years, and am currently riding a horse that has been fantastic for building confidence over jumps, after my last horse that was super challenging to keep a regular pace and get to the jumps.

The problem - he has a WICKED spook, that will come out of nowhere…and he will spin and dump me on the ground faster than I even can realize he’s spooked at something. Despite focused work, always being aware of what’s around us, making sure he is paying attention to my aids, I can never relax for even a minute. I can ride a lot of funny business, but this one is so explosive and so sudden, he’s gotten me off a couple of times, and it’s starting to mess with me.

A few weeks ago, we were finishing our jumping lesson, and over top of a 3’ jump he spots a deer 50 yards away down in the paddocks, didn’t even fully land before he spun hard, and dumped me off before I even had a chance to get my butt back in the saddle after the jump!

This is messing with my head - I can stick a lot of stuff, but I had no chance whatsoever to stick that spin - I’m busy looking straight ahead to finish our line, then get him set up for the turn, and he’s looking way off in the distance at a deer that I never even saw until after I was able to get off the ground.

I don’t know what to do; I don’t have a lot of riding options at the moment. This horse has done wonders for my eye and my riding, but after 3 kids, my interest in hitting the ground is definitely waning. :face_with_raised_eyebrow: Even after a 45-minute intense flatwork session, he spooked hard at who knows what outside the ring, and almost got me off. I don’t dare ride the horse outside the ring, especially since I’m almost always riding alone…but I also don’t want to always be sitting on him waiting for the worst either…

Any help or suggestions?

4 Likes