Unlimited access >

Stepping out of dressage ring

Dressage newbie here. I ride in an outdoor dressage arena that is only fenced in by low wood panels and is open in the 4 corners for entering and exiting the arena. My horse gets disobedient around these 4 corners and tries to step out by strongly bulging his outside shoulder and speeding up. He is basically magnetized to these exits. I really have to micromanage him around the turns to successfully navigate the corners. He is only in light work and I try to make our sessions a positive experience for him with lots of praise so I donā€™t think he has much reason to be ring sour. He is sound and tack fits well.

I was thinking of trying a new approach of letting him step out of the ring, but then making the consequence be that he has to work harder outside of the arena. Iā€™m not sure how ā€“ trotting small circles? Something else?

Iā€™d welcome any advice from the community on how to deal with this problem. Iā€™m just so tired of having to completely override every corner to keep us in the arena.

Thank you in advance.

I think there are several approaches you can try. The first thing I would do is ride ā€œoff the rail,ā€ maybe two meters away, always. Always. And resist any temptation to look out of the ring. Look where you want to go.

Now try this: As you ride the long side, prepare for the turn at the short side well before you get there, and donā€™t ride into the corner. Make a smooth arc, holding his shoulders in place with your outside rein and guiding his body around with your outside leg, knee, and thigh. Using small counterflexions might help. Be sure to ride forward, forward, forward.