Unlimited access >

Taking pictures of riders at events

Hello everyone. I am new to taking pictures of equestrian events. I just recently was at Red Hills and thought I did a prety good job. My question to all you riders out there, is what do you prefer when a photographer takes pictures of you all? XC, Show jumping, take off, mid-air, landing…? Any ideas will help me improve my skills at future events. I’ll be at Rocking Horse this weekend and Ocala in April.

Thanks.

Randy

http://www.randytraynorphotography.com/p842940313/e3c9bae5c

Mid-air is best, we as riders want to see good form for the horse and that is when their knees are most likely to be squared up.

I prefer XC shots and will tend to buy photos to support a photographer if they are reasonably priced (e.g. will spend $10-20 and find at least one photo to buy just to support, but won’t spend $40-50 on a single photo unless there is some outstanding reason to do so).

I don’t have technical advice, but you could look at what other pros do (e.g. look at the photos posted on COTH’s website) to see what is generally wanted.

Midair, landing if it’s down a drop. As a general rule I am more likely to buy an only decent xc photo that is over an exciting fence… a showjumping photo needs to be good of me and the horse and a dressage photo needs to be very good, and have a pretty background etc. (unless I really need it for a sales ad or something in which case it just needs to be flattering of the horse.) A lot of the pics you’ve posted you caught the horses a little early, when they weren’t quite off the ground. But your prices are excellent-- I’d buy from you.

Yeah, you want to get the horse at the pinnacle of the jump… Some of the ones you posted are too early. If you are taking 5+ photos in rapid fire of each jump as the pros do, you likely have a better shot of those jumps on file.