Unlimited access >

Tell me about driving American Shetlands

I’m looking for a small pony to fit my harnesses and carts. I’ve had a mountain welsh, a welsh and currently have a hackney who is getting near retirement. ( I’ve been driving for 40 yrs) I’ve found an American Shetland that seems to fit bill in the size and temperament category I’ve watch videos of her. She goes like my hackney who has never been shod to be high stepping. (He is constantly mistaken for a welsh) She has knee action when she gets quicker but not exaggerated. My question is: why have I never seen a American Shetland at pleasure shows. She’s 12.1 and very refined. Are these neat ponies only showing at saddlebred shows or can they be competitive in pleasure driving circles I’d appreciate hearing what anyone can tell me about their American Shetland

Not American Shetland, which has been seriously modified, but Shetlands are frequently driven, both private driving and scurry racing in the UK, and they are competitive.

I haven’t seen a traditional Shetland driving in yrs. There was a very nice pair that was driven by a well known judge back about ten yrs They were under 11h so when I started thinking of buying a new pony, shetlands were off my radar since all my harnesses, vehicles, and pony clothes(I.e. blankets, turnouts, dress sheets) are for a cute trotter 11.2h to 12.2. This little mare I’ve looked at is 12.1( size is right) and is being sold reasonably because she’s quiet and maybe too laid back ( quiet is good. I read this as not showing a lot of action). But she is so slight built that I’m afraid she might not look appropriate in my antique road cart or my CM roadster. I haven’t been showing for quite a few yrs due to health issues and then Covid but I would like to know I can.

1 Like

Shetland make nice driving ponies, though not real common in my area. Does she have papers? She is on the bigger side of what I expect to see in a Shetland, but possible depending on her family lines.