Unlimited access >

Time it takes to jump over 4ft

Quick question I’ve never really been able to get an answer to.

How long does it take to be able to jump over 1.25m or around 4 feet? I’d love to one day compete in a higher level circuit but I don’t get jump the heights required to do so. I like having timelines for things but this is totally out of my ballpark since I’m still relatively new to the sport.

If someone is maybe able to give me some insight into this that’d be amazing!

It takes as long as it takes. There is no timeline. Are you talented, young and athletic with a couple of talented athletic horse who will put up with your beginner mistakes? The opportunity to ride multiple horses every day? A skilled trainer? Then most likely your timeline will be significantly shorter than an out of shape middle aged lady who takes lessons once a week.

30 Likes

There’s really no cut and dry answer. It will take you as long as it takes you and the horse(s) you ride to learn and master all of the pre-requisite skills necessary to be successful in jumping a course of that height. Not every horse has the athletic capability for that level either, so one would also have to acquire a horse capable of the height before beginning to try their hand at it.

5 Likes

It depends on how long it takes the horse to be able to repeatedly jump full courses at 4’, that’s a height where they can’t all do it, it’s not just the height, it’s the width and the step and a rider who can ride the big wide jumps and handle the big fast step and adjust to a smaller, slower step on an excited horse late in the course.

Or it could depend on your budget, you’ll advance faster if you are learning on a horse that can already do each level leasing your way up as opposed to bringing a single horse up the levels always hoping you don’t run out of scope before you get to the next level.