Tips for IEA zones

Hello! I am doing my first IEA zones next March (it is my first year doing IEA) and I was wondering if anyone could give tips on how to bring my A game.
I had a really good season, I got a lot of points and a lot of good ribbons. My regionals went ok, I wish I rode a bit better but given circumstances I did well. I really want to put my best foot forward and be the best rider possible.
Does anyone have tips on how to make sure you do your best and be the best version of yourself possible, and also how to navigate an arena with hard spacing?

I got cut off a lot at regionals which made it really hard to ride, and also my horse didn’t like it at all, so I think that’s why I got a lower placing than I expected. I also realize that it will definitely happen again no matter where I show, so I need to learn to navigate it better.

I have one piece of advice for everybody, but especially people who do IEA/IHSA/NCAA shows.

Do not ever, and I mean EVER, post so much as one single step on the wrong diagonal.

There is so much about that IEA process you can’t control. The horse you draw, the tack it wears, the schooling session, the others in the class, etc., etc.

But you have absolute total complete 100% control of whether you ever post on the wrong diagonal.

Don’t take a chance on making a bad first impression on the judge the second you get out of the walk.

Good luck! :four_leaf_clover:

9 Likes

We didn’t get judges comments and I’m kinda confused as to why I got 4th place. I thought I did well, my eq was nice, I showed off to the judge a bit which I don’t normally do and it went well.
Can you tell me which reason is the most likely why I got marked down?

• I half seated for like 2 seconds at the end because my horse spooked and started shaking her head.
  • Except for the time I showed off I was really hidden.
  • I had to make some awkward turns because the spacing was an issue
    Thank you lots!