Unlimited access >

To Buy or Not to Buy

Hello,
I have quite the dilemma. First, a bit of background: I am 18, in college (read: poor), and love to jump. I’ve been riding for 8 years, jumped up to 3’6". I’ve never had my own horse.
I found a horse who is basically everything I want in a horse: he is a good size, great temperament, huge jump, 8 years old, and buckskin to boot. I got a chance to ride him and he was a dream.
Problem? He’s $20,000.
I have a job right now at my college tutoring and will be working at a summer camp over the summer. The pay at the camp is really good. I would have to ask my parents for help to buy him outright, but hopefully not boarding (there’s a barn by my college with very reasonable rates for partial care. I don’t mind mucking stalls) I have a farrier friend who will give me a discount for services.
The question? Is it worth it? I looked around and for an already started jumper prospect, $20,000 or up seems to be the average figure. This guy is everything I want in a horse.
I need advice please!

Um, buy what you can afford. Do you know how many people can afford to buy the horse that is everything they want? Almost none. Welcome to the club.

Unless you have rich parents, how is it even a consideration?

[QUOTE=gravitycommand;7867230]
Hello,
I have quite the dilemma. First, a bit of background: I am 18, in college (read: poor), and love to jump. I’ve been riding for 8 years, jumped up to 3’6". I’ve never had my own horse.
I found a horse who is basically everything I want in a horse: he is a good size, great temperament, huge jump, 8 years old, and buckskin to boot. I got a chance to ride him and he was a dream.
Problem? He’s $20,000.