Unlimited access >

Torpedo grass control - Cows? Mini cattle easier than full size?

We are South of Atlanta and have been getting enough rain that Torpedo grass is becoming a real problem in the pastures and it’s hard to kill with anything but Roundup which kills everything else. Was brainstorming how to control it organically and understand cattle and goats will graze it. Goats are notoriously hard to contain and I don’t have wire fencing inside my four board, so they will escape.

Cattle I understand will also graze it but I really don’t want full size cows, but a couple of minis might be tolerable. I have no experience with cattle, so I’m asking. Thoughts?

where most of our neighbors have horses/ponies/goats one across the street had miniature herefords … look just like the big things (I guess we could have done team penning using the miniature horses… only if we could find some trained monkeys to ride the miniature horses?)

But she would take her cows for walks

Not cheap to buy

Neighbor moved out to ranch territory last year, now has a small (in numbers) herd of small cattle, An adult female weighs anywhere from 650 to 800+

1 Like

Still better than the full size ones, but yes, stout things. Probably still less aggravation than keeping goats contained though.

never saw any of neighbors minie cows climb on top of their truck, but their goats did

3 Likes

never saw any of neighbors minie cows climb on top of their truck, but their goats did
[/quote]

Right? :smile:

1 Like

here the mini cows count as real cows for ag exceptions as they are consider Beef Cattle

1 Like

Will sheep eat it? They are easier than cows or goats. And you don’t have to shear hair sheep.

1 Like

How big is your pasture? The glove in glove method using glyphosate minimizes collateral damage.

No. Only cattle and goats, and just read another article that said they may even help spread it.

1 Like