Unlimited access >

What do want to see in your local tack shop?

Okay, Poll Time!
We have the opportunity to open a smallish tack and feed shop (if we find that it is viable), and would love to know what you would like to see and would purchase most often in your local tack and feed shop! Our feed selection will be limited to just horses (we are trying for Triple Crown, for feed and Standlee, for alfalfa pellets, beet pulp etc) We will be primarily English, I’m a hunter/jumper trainer, and we will be surrounded by several dressage and eventing barns. . . . So if you guys don’t mind, let me have it, what do you want and what would stop you from buying in store vs online from one of the two big retailers? I should mention, we will have an online presence as well, if this works! Thanks in advance!

QUALITY leather tack. It doesn’t have to be Dover, a simple selection of basic strap goods should suffice. The biggest issue I have with 95% of local tack shops is they have nothing but cheap, perpetually dry, poor quality leather items. Why even bother? I get that a few inexperienced folks will likely take the bait, but that doesn’t seem smart or sustainable.

I would travel a good distance to be able to browse through a selection, even a limited one, of good tack. I know I am not alone.

I am totally unaware of the legalities and headaches involved in selling tack and other items on consignment, but personally I cannot resist a shop with a consignment section.

Things I want to buy at local tack stores:

-Anything that may incur additional freight charges when ordering online. This includes fly spray, show sheen, liniment, shampoo, big buckets of treats, and common supplements.