Unlimited access >

When even a six-figure salary isn't enough to compete

Not a question, just hoping others can relate :weary:

I’ve been riding in the H/J world for over 20 years. I’m in my late twenties and I live in a city in one of the more expensive parts of the country w/ my partner and no kids. I own one nice mare who I’m hoping to compete in the A/O hunters this summer.

Most my younger years, I groomed and was a working student and had a little support from my parents so that I could ride and compete here & there. This is the first year I’m fully financing a horse on my own—worked my a$$ off to be able to do it and always knew it would be tricky, but WOW is it harder than I expected.

Board + 1 lesson/week + 1 training ride/week + farrier + chiropractor + supplements = over $2200/month. That’s BEFORE showing. At a barn that does some A shows, but mostly local shows, where paying this much in board is considered more than reasonable.

I make a six-figure salary yet I still have to do 15 hrs of freelance work per week to afford horse plus (astronomical) rent, plus bills, plus student loans, throwing what I can into savings and maaaybe have enough leftover to feed myself.

I would move to a cheaper area in a heartbeat, but my partner of three years can’t leave because his father is disabled and he needs to stay nearby to check in on him every couple of days.

The real kicker is that, between the two jobs and the time it takes to get to the barn (45+ mins one way, usually stuck in traffic, at least 4-5 days per week), I have almost 0 hours remaining for, you know, sleep… or sanity. But the horse is also the one thing preserving my sanity.

The $ stress is real. The work-life balance stress is realer. But I can’t imagine living without riding, and the cost to lease a horse around here is just as bad if not worse than owning (if you want to be able to compete). How does everyone do it!?!?

sigh