Unlimited access >

Where are the working students?

I have a really nice opportunity for a working student here at my stable in Ontario. I have posted the position all over and I am not getting much in the way of responses. I am offering a schooled FEI horse, lessons, 25 hours of PAID work/week and room and board. Is that fair or do I expect too much? I am an FEI level trainer and certified high performance coach with good competitive results and oodles of experience to share.

Or is the whole “working student” experience a thing of the past?

Thanks for your comments!

7 Likes

On paper it sounds totally fair. If I were looking for a position I would certainly consider it. Which leaves open the question of the market in your area, and perhaps your reputation. I have no idea who you are so not even remotely a slam on you. But, if you’re honest about your abilities and treat your working students fairly I can’t imagine why you can’t fill it

7 Likes

up the paid work time from a part time position to full time, 25 hours is considered a part time position

If there is full time work, there is little to no time for riding …

4 Likes

Is it partly the pandemic effecting your response?

3 Likes

Not sure but might it have something to do with the season? If I were a working student right now, I’d be looking in the south. One barn I know of just hired someone from California - maybe 6-8 weeks ago, similar situation but in Florida. I am pretty sure that she is only a short timer - maybe through late spring.
Another barn person that I know is frustrated by lack of health insurance. She also works at another part time job.
I dont think there is a huge demand in general, but that’s based on a small set of data points…people I’ve heard are looking for a WS and cant find.

2 Likes

Possibly a seasonal issue not just for the cold but because you often find college age kids for this, and they are mostly looking for summer work of that volume.