Unlimited access >

where do I set the "boundries" in this trainer situation?

Sorry for that kinda awkward title but any/all advice is appreciated!
Situation: I’m a young amateur and I have been working in Europe this summer for a training/sales barn. My boss here has asked if I want to try to begin a partnership with him when I get back to the states. Starting with bringing one horse home with me and trying my hand at sales, then see how it goes and hopefully continue to turn it into a real business. Parents are on board and it’s looking like a go. I’m very excited but how do I present this to my current trainer?

I’ve been training with her for a year. I moved to a new state to go to college, therefore a new trainer. She and I have a great relationship and she has really taken me under her wing. She actually found me this job in Europe. I want to start doing my own thing soon but I’m not dumb enough to think I can bring a young horse along without any help from a trainer at this point in my life.

I want to ask her to continue to train me with these horses but do I need to worry she will want a trainer cut when this horse sells? I really just want to take occasional lessons and have her help when I go to shows but when it comes to marketing the horse, etc I want to do that part all on my own. Is it inappropriate of me to not give her a cut?
Also, am I stepping on toes if I board it at her barn if this could turn into my own business? I have a few ideas of barns that I could maybe take the horse to. (one is a boarding-only barn actually owned by another client of my trainer and happens to be next door to my trainer’s house.)

I am definitely going to make sure all these things are out in the open before importing a horse but I figured I could ask you guys here what I could maybe expect before having the conversation. Thanks!!