Unlimited access >

Where would you go?

Just brainstorming here…

I am a recent graduate (within the last 2 years) with a mechanical engineering degree & job. Currently working a good job, good benefits, and good pay in a very very non-horsey area. Or at least a non-english horsey area. Think 1 boarding barn (every one else I guess has horses at home?) within a 45+ minute radius. Closest events are 3 hours away, and that is only 1 recognized a year. Everything else is 5+ hours away. Currently in the south, grew up even further south. Never have had to deal with real snow, maybe 1 snow storm where I am living currently. But the mud here. Grew up in an area with sandy soil, so could ride even when it was raining. Whereas here if you ride with this mud, you are risking injury to the horses.

I have been looking for a place for me and my 2 horses here without much luck. Now I am trying to consider if I should keep looking here and keep this job or start looking for a different job in a more horsey area instead of buying a place here. If I was to move, it would be easy after finding a job and a place for the horses. Its just me and a dog and 2 horses. Nothing keeping me here.

What would you do? Be keep looking for a place here (not much horses, but cheap and low cost of living with good job) or look for jobs elsewhere? If you where to look for jobs elsewhere, where would you focus your search? I don’t like giant cities, so Atlanta is out for me. (I think my weather here is similar to what Atlanta gets, grew up with more heat and humidity, so I can deal with that unlike some from further north).