Unlimited access >

Which Hunter Stallion??

I am looking at breeding my 16.3 OLD-NA registered hunter mare. I’ve been looking into quite a few stallions and could really use the opinion of you guys. The goal is to produce something with fantastic hunter form and movement. It would be nice to have something that could competitively do the Hunter breeding also. So I want a stallion that stamps his foals especially when it comes to movement and jump. Here are the stallions I’m looking at, which one would you pick and why? I want the foal to be 16.2hh+. luckily my mare is large in size. Stallions listed below. (FEEL FREE to comment with a stallion you personally like if you don’t see him here)

WESTPORTE
REDWINE
POPEYE K
JUST THE BEST
ROC USA (I’ve heard he has many jumper type foals so I’m wary)

I am no breeding expert but I love my 7 year old Westporte gelding and every other Westporte baby I’ve ever seen. The hack winner every time out and very amateur friendly brain (I broke him myself and have never fallen off him). I don’t know if this is typical but he really took a long time to mature physically - as an example, he grew almost an inch between 6 and 7.

1 Like

As a owner of a Redwine filly who adore I will say absolutely, positively cross him off your list. Popeye K tops my wish list personally.

I have never heard anyone with a bad word to say about their Westporte offspring - amateur friendly, good movers, good temperament for the hunter ring. Hard to go wrong with that choice. Some are slow to mature, but the ones I know haven’t been difficult in their growing-up phase and were very laid back.

In my recent horse-shopping, I also have run across quite a few nice offspring of Sir Wanabi as well, and he definitely stamps his offspring, so you might take a look at him also to see if your mare would be a good cross.

1 Like