Unlimited access >

Working with unhandled, 8 month old filly

Hello, I have a question and I am looking for advice on the best way to go forward at this moment in training an 8 month old filly. I have raised many youngsters and they were predominantly low key personality types, easy to handle, etc. However, I recently purchased a very nice ranch bred filly who comes from a program that sells their weanlings each fall. The bloodlines, disposition and conformation are impeccable, so I purchased a nice filly. None of these foals are handled, with the exception of vaccinations, health checks, then a little prep for the production sale. Their whole lives they have run out on 30,000 acres with the broodmare band. I have lots of experience in equines but this one is a new situation. I have trained many a young horse, carried my Kentucky trainers license with the Kentucky TB Commission and have raised National high point champions. My plans for her are to spend the next 2 years just building trust and a strong bond. I have begun letting her adjust to her new lifestyle here, the noises of cars, dogs, etc and after 30 days I began the process of letting her trust me enough to work around her at feeding time. She has gone from not letting me within 30 feet to letting me scratch her nose while she eats (though she is leery if I try to do too much). She doesn’t kick or show any defensive behavior but it’s time to get a halter on this girl.Shes only 8 months old and 14 hands or better. I put her in a small lot so I can rub her back belly and legs with my pool noodle, which she has grown accustomed to. Now, its time to work toward her head area and get her used to me touching her, but I’m just not sure which route to take. I have seen some people rope a young horse and without fighting them, wait until the youngster allows them to touch and get a halter on. I’m trying to avoid stressful handling of any type but I’m stuck., she actually extremely good minded, smart, resourceful cu