Unlimited access >

Another New Horse - It's Bo!

Bought this sad guy from an auction house yesterday, picked him up today. He was brought in by a trader with ‘adult qh gelding’ as the only info. This makes 3 redheaded boys in my crew, now. I’m no teeth expert, but he appears to be maybe 8-10, about 16h or so. Vet has been scheduled for next Monday, the soonest they could get us in, so he’s going to be getting frequent small meals of alfalfa pellet mush until then (following UC Davis protocol). He quids pretty badly, and his sheath looks oddly crusty but otherwise doesn’t seem to have any glaring health issues (aside from being horrifyingly thin).

No name yet. Soon. I bought him because he reminded me of my dear, departed ‘heart horse’ OTTB, who I brought home in pretty much the same condition. He is very sweet, well mannered, and HUNGRY, and is now tucked in with a big blanket at home. :heart:

Name ideas welcome.

59 Likes

Bless him and you for helping him. I like River and Smudge off the top off my head. I’ll be back later with more ideas!

5 Likes

Years ago someone i knew acquired a very skinny horse from an auction. There was something about his eye that she fell for. He was dubbed Bob (for Bag Of Bones). He turned out to be a lovely horse that learned passage and piaffe. Best of luck with your boy, and thank you for giving him a loving home.

19 Likes

“Thanksgiving” aka “Thanks”

7 Likes

You named him yourself, Tuck In , aka Tucker

Will follow. I learn a lot from these stories

18 Likes

Aww poor bub. Give him a big, strong name to grow into!

4 Likes

He reminds of a big QH gelding I knew years ago. His name was Lincoln, because he was the color of a copper penny. I like Lincoln, or Copper, or Wyatt.

6 Likes

Soon? Sooner?

1 Like

Oh, bloody hell. People suck.

Thank you for doing this.

10 Likes

He’s giving me a “spice” vibe - Cumin, Nutmeg, Serrano, take your pick.

2 Likes

Poor guy! They could trim his feet but not feed him?