Unlimited access >

Human-Equine Attachment Questionaire

Hi all - I am a student researcher from Colorado State University in the department of psychology. We are inviting participants who are over the age of 18 and who own or rent/lease a horse. Participation will take approximately 20-30 minutes. This is an anonymous online survey. Participation in this research is voluntary. We will not collect names or any other personal identifiers. While there are no direct benefits, we hope participants will learn more about the relationship they have with their horses. They will also be helping to inform the practices of Equine Assisted Services that use horses to promote human well-being.

Here is the link to participate in this research and to complete the online survey: https://colostate.az1.qualtrics.com/jfe/form/SV_6nhvYWZEWoinj0i

The CSU IRB (FWA0000647) has completed its review of protocol 3619 The Human-Equine Attachment Questionnaire. In accordance with federal and state requirements, and policies established by the CSU IRB, the committee has approved this protocol under Exempt review. If you have any questions about the rights of participants in this research, please contact the CSU IRB at: CSU_IRB@colostate.edu or 970-491-1553

I did the survey but itā€™s rather flawed. It sounds like itā€™s written for 11 year olds but itā€™s 18+ to answer.

The questions are ambiguous. ā€œI fully trust myself to be open and vulnerable to my horse.ā€ WTF? Agree or disagree? My horse is not my lover. Get too open and vulnerable and you will be trampled. I trust my horse within parameters that I have trained and established over the past 12 years. She can keep us safe in the back country and doesnā€™t spook at bicycles and loads safely and calmly in a trailer. She is also capable of losing her ever loving mind in the winter and turning into a cyclone in hand. And once that led to me being trampled and seriously injured.